top of page

Spaghetti Squash with Vegan Tomato Basil Cream Sauce

I've been really into trying new squashes lately and so I decided to buy a spaghetti squash, something I knew I liked but had never cooked before. Lucky me when I found this recipe!!

It was so fun and easy to make (spaghetti squashes are pretty exciting), but also so tasty.

I added Tofurky sausage to mine and spinach which was SO good, but I'm sure any sort of combination of veggies or meat alternatives would be great. And for those non-vegans, parmesean would be pretty tasty on top.

PREP TIME

15 mins

COOK TIME

35 mins

TOTAL TIME

50 mins

Alexis: Alexis Joseph, MS, RD, LD

Serves: 2-3

INGREDIENTS

For the spaghetti squash:

  • 1 medium spaghetti squash

  • 2 tsp extra virgin olive oil

  • 2 tsp minced garlic

  • salt

  • freshly ground pepper

For the tomato sauce:

  • ½ cup raw cashews, soaked

  • 1-15 oz can diced fire roasted tomatoes

  • ¼ cup basil leaves, chopped

  • 2 tbsp water

  • ½ tsp salt

  • red pepper flakes, optional

INSTRUCTIONS

  1. Place cashews in a bowl and cover with water. Allow them to soak for at least 2 hours or overnight. (I bring water to a boil in a tea kettle, cover the cashews with the hot water, and let them soak for 30 minutes when I'm in a hurry.)

  2. Preheat oven to 375F. Slice spaghetti squash in half. Scoop out seeds and stringy flesh with a spoon. Rub a teaspoon of olive oil over each half (inside, not outside). Rub with garlic and sprinkle with salt and pepper.

  3. Place face down on a baking sheet and bake for 35 minutes.

  4. Meanwhile, place the sauce ingredients in a blender (I used my nutribullet) and blend until completely smooth and creamy. Set aside.

  5. Use a fork to shred the spaghetti squash into strands. Heat a pan over medium heat. Place squash in a pan and cover with sauce (I used about ⅔ of the sauce and saved the rest). Toss to combine until warmed through.

  6. Top with fresh basil and red pepper flakes prior to serving.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Instagram Social Icon
  • Facebook Basic Square
bottom of page