top of page

Favorite Foundations

Before switching to cruelty-free, I used to use Clinique's Acne Solutions foundation, which I LOVED. I have since had a hard time finding a replacement for it because it matched my skin tone really well and set very quickly/didn't melt off throughout the day.

Hourglass's Immaculate Liquid Powder Foudation honestly might be even better than my old foundation. It dries very very quickly with a velvety finish and medium-full coverage. It also lasts all day, which is important because I don't have time between classes and meetings and meals and swemming to re-apply foudation throughout the day. I also don't want to use that much makeup in the first place. Unfortunately does not come in shades on the darker side of the spectrum. Quite expensive and a bit of a splurge, but definitely worth it. $55 for 1oz at Sephora. Picture from website. -Rachel

Tarte's Amazonian Clay 12-Hour Full Coverage Foundation SPF15 is another product worth mentioning. Definitely very long lasting, medium-full coverage and available in 24 shades. The ingredients are supposed to draw out impurities and improve skin. Unfortunately, their parent company is not cruelty-free, although Tarte products themselves are never tested on animals. I personally no longer buy Tarte because I don't want my money to be used towards animal testing BUT I would say that choosing this over a product that is tested on animals is definitely a step in the right direction. Plus it supports the cruelty-free movement overall. Available at Sephora $39 for 1.7oz. Picture from website. -Rachel

If you are looking for a less expensive option I really like the Youthful Wear Spotless CC Cream by Physician's Formula. Unfortunately, they do not have a great variety of shades at all but if you can find one that works for you, I recommend trying it. It doesn't quite set like the other foundations mentioned because it's a CC cream and not technically a foundation. I use this product in the winter/colder weather (it would just melt off if I used it during any other season in Williamsburg) because it provides AMAZING coverage and doesn't dry out my skin. It's also super affordable: $7.49 for 1.2oz on Ulta. Physician's Formula is also available at most drugstores. Picture from website. -Rachel

Another affordable option is the Studio Flawless Finish Foundation by e.l.f. This foundation has the look and feel of a luxurious, high-end foundation thanks to its sleek packaging and the inclusion of a pump (thank goodness for pumps!). The foundation goes on very smooth, blends easily, gives medium to full coverage, and dries with a velvety, not too dewy, not too matte finish. Like the Phyisicans Formula one, the shade range is limited. There are 6 color options, from Porcelain to Coco. I tend to be on the light-neutral side and I have the Porcelain shade, which it matches me perfectly. Lighter skin tones might not find a match. Same for very dark tones. Nevertheless, for just $5.69 at Target, this foundation seems almost too good to be true. Picture from the e.l.f. website. -Elizabeth

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Instagram Social Icon
  • Facebook Basic Square
bottom of page