top of page

Current Hair Care Routine

Generally, I have a really hard time finding hair products that work for me. Since I get a haircut about once a year (due to PTSD from a bad haircut in high school), my hair is long and very, very dry. Lots of products leave my hair feeling like straw.

Nevertheless, after many months of trial and error, I have compiled a solid militia of wonderfully animal-friendly products that my hair seems to love. The prices listed below may vary on location but they are what I bought the products for. I am always trying new products so this routine is sure to change but these products are certainly awesome!

Beauty Without Cruelty Aromatherapy Daily Benefits Shampoo and Conditioner

http://www.beautywithoutcruelty.com/

First off, the core of a hair care regimen: the shampoo and conditioner. This has probably been the hardest thing to settle on. However, my hunt may be over thanks to the aptly named brand Beauty Without Cruelty. BWC is an online brand that sells hair, makeup, and skin care items. I have been using their Aromatherapy Daily Benefits line. The shampoo is clarifying enough that it breaks down oil and product build-up (I wash my hair every 2-3 days) without leaving it stripped and brittle. The conditioner is moisturizing but still light enough that my hair doesn’t feel weighed down. A major plus for me is the smell. BWC toots the addition of 100% pure premium essential Oshadhi essential oils which make their shampoo and conditioner smell herbal and soothing, definitely a great way to make your bath or shower time more spa-like. BWC is offered only online. I recommend buying it from http://www.luckyvitamin.com/p-7122-beauty-without-cruelty-shampoo-daily-benefits-for-all-hair-types-16-oz where you can get it for $6.99/16 oz.

Batiste Original Dry Shampoo

http://www.batistehair.com/fragrance-original.aspx

Since I only wash my hair every 2-3 days, dry shampoo has become one of my “can’t live without” products. Nothing beats Batiste. There isn’t a whole lot to say about this product except that it works miracles. I spritz it a couple of times onto my roots and then rub it into my scalp and brush it out and my hair looks fresh and clean. An added bonus is that it gives amazing volume so I sometimes even use it on freshly washed hair for some extra oomph. Batiste sells an array of scents including cherry, floral, and tropical, but my favorite is original because it’s very subtle and fresh. The other great thing about Batiste is it can be found at pretty much every drugstore and supermarket. I got mine at Target where is costs around $5.99/6.7oz.

Giovanni Avocado and Olive Oil leave-in conditioner

http://www.giovannicosmetics.com/products/item.asp?prodtype=2CHIC2&cat=2CHIC2&subcat=2CHIC2&item=2CHIC2-TREAT-4

After I wash my hair, brushing it is usually a nightmare so I like to apply a leave in conditioner on the bottom half of my hair to give the strands more slip. Giovanni is an amazing brand - I’ve loved everything I’ve tried from them and this leave-in conditioner is a true gem. It has a gel-like texture and seems to disappear when applied but it makes brushing a breeze and doesn’t leave a sticky, oily residue. I like to think of this product as a daily vitamin for my hair because it’s full of nutrients and omega fatty acids thanks to the avocado and olive oil in it. Like Batiste, it is available at most drugstores and supermarkets. I got mine at target for $8.99/4 oz

Tangle Teezer (the original)

https://www.tangleteezer.com/products.php?cat=2

This is hands down the best hairbrush I have ever used. I have a particularly sensitive scalp and most brushes pull too much. It is so gentle and effective, I would never think of trying something else. While $15.00 may seem like a lot of cash for this odd looking, plastic, handle-less brush, it is definitely a good investment because I have had mine for well over 3 years now and it still works wonders. I recently saw it available at Sephora http://www.sephora.com/the-original-detangling-hairbrush-P399334?skuId=1739812

MoroccanOil Treatment Light

http://www.moroccanoil.com/usa/h_us_en/moroccanoil-treatment-light

This is definitely a luxury splurge purchase but I have been in love with MoroccanOil ever since my aunt gave me a tiny sample bottle when I was 14. Argan oil (the main ingredient) is amazing for so many health and environmental reasons. In hair care, it is used to promote strand elasticity with it’s conditioning and anti-aging properties. Whenever my hair is looking frizzy, dry, or just generally dull, I rub a tiny amount of this through the ends of my hair and it makes it so shiny and smooth. This stuff is definitely more of a pamper item than a necessity though as it is pretty pricey and can only be found online or at hair salons and upscale beauty supply stores for around $44.00/3.4 oz)

Shea Moisture SuperFruit Complex 10-in-1 Renewal System Hair Masque

http://www.sheamoisture.com/SuperFruit-Complex-10-In-1-Renewal-System-Hair-Masque_p_830.html

My final hair care essential is a deep conditioning hair mask from the wonderful brand Shea Moisture. I use this mask once a week when I want to pamper myself (usually on a cozy Sunday evening, often paired with a face mask). It is so so so moisturizing and my hair feels silky smooth afterwards. Plus the smell is incredible. It is the best smelling product out of my entire hair care regimen. It smells like a warm, fruity dream (okay, can you tell I love the smell or what?). I don’t recommend it for daily use or on the roots because of how heavy and conditioning it is but it really does moisturize dry, brittle, damaged hair. It is available at most drugstores and supermarkets. I got mine at Target for $12.99/12 oz.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Instagram Social Icon
  • Facebook Basic Square
bottom of page